Wobble Wobble

May 9, 2016 § 3 Comments

Hello Internet. A lot has happened between the last post and this one. I think of this space fondly, in those slivers of wonder where I’m awed by the grace and beauty of this practice and think “Oh I should write about that!”, but upon further reflection, realize that what the depths of what I would like to convey is immediately rendered banal by the use of words. And so I don’t.

One of the biggest changes in the past few months is that I have found my Teacher. The Guru. The person who will hold me accountable, not just to an asana practice, but to everything else that requires showing up in life. This person is an expert on holding up a mirror to my blind spots and requiring me to be present with sensations/emotions/behaviors that I would prefer to avoid. To constantly push me to keep my legs straight/sternum lifted/chin up without compromising the integrity of the breath, and in so doing, taking me past my physical edge and showing me that I can do it. This teacher’s gift of connecting the dots between on-mat behavior and off-mat personality quirks with sharp, incisive wit is unparalleled. At least compared with all the other teachers I’ve practiced with up till now. Case in point: making the observation that I’m trying to do the perfect Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana, by not allowing myself to wobble in the pose.

“I’ve done this pose for so many years and I still wobble in it. You need to get comfortable with the wobbling and calibrate your balance internally.”

Not allowing for any wobbling is an accurate summation of my personal tendency towards meticulous planning and strict adherence to the best laid plans. I’ve gotten better with age at dealing with changes to plans and itineraries, but you could say that I still have some way to go with allowing for more wobbling in my life. It’s a mental practice I’m still playing around with in the weeks since that class and I have to say that a touch of wobbling does wonders for the anxiety. It frees up the rib cage to breathe more fully, triggers the vagus nerve and generates a sense of calm – very useful especially when travelling, driving in peak hour traffic, <insert other anxiety-inducing situations here>.

Here’s to the Wobble!

§ 3 Responses to Wobble Wobble

  • mariavlong says:

    See? Now I have to ask who your Guru is. If you want to say, I thought it does not hurt to ask πŸ™‚

    • D says:

      It’s funny you’re asking. Before I hit ‘Publish’ I wondered if I should add a footnote as to why I’ve not disclosed the identity of this person, but decided against it as I didn’t think anyone would want to know. Clearly I was wrong!

      I’ve been examining my reasons for privacy since your comment. The main reason is driven by my experience at the studio I used to practice at, where the social scene is very alive and what everyone did/is doing becomes a topic of conversation. I know that there are a few folks from that studio who still read this blog and I’d like to avoid providing more fodder for gossip as much as possible. This is also part of a bigger conversation around why I’ve switched studios which I’m not ready to go into here.

      The other part boils down to this: I don’t think this development needs to be public knowledge at this stage. If I become a teacher one day, then sure, it’s a different story. But given that it’s still in the early stages, I’m a little protective over who I choose to share the news with, and would rather keep this sort of conversation with people I know and trust than with an anonymous Internet audience.

      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wobble Wobble at Savasana Addict.

meta

