Self-Knowledge

May 14, 2015 § 3 Comments

1. Driving tightens my adductors.

2. I’m not great at following the prescribed rules. I often begin with compliance, but eventually a tendency towards questioning takes over. I like to analyze, contextualize, extract meaning and find resonance. I guess you can say I’m a bona fide shithead.

3. Traumatic stress resides in my nervous system. And it’s no fun when the full impact of stressful emotions you’ve been carrying around manifests itself on the physical plane. Pain. Lots of it.

4. The Ashtanga practice can be done by anyone with an inkling of interest, but most definitely not by those who spend 12-14 hours a day on their feet lugging light stands, backdrops and heavy wood surfaces.

5. Kapotasana B is currently the finely honed razor’s edge of my existence.

6. Sometimes, a dropback can give you the most satisfying, chiropractor-like adjustment in the upper back.

7. My anxieties have a common root: one of feeling as if I have something to prove.

8. I feel like a fraud a lot of the time. Doesn’t seem like that’s going to change.

9. Committing to a daily practice is really about committing to bravery, courage and fearlessness.

10. Holding, instead of grasping, one’s awareness, both physically and psychically is practically an art form.

§ 3 Responses to Self-Knowledge

  • mariavlong says:

    #7 Our educational model has conditioned/educated/trained us to continuously prove our worth. We have been groomed to become anxious beings.

    #10 “grasping” -it is a miracle that we do not choke our awareness into oblivion lol.

    • D says:

      #10: I know, right? Talk about transferance of anxiety from daily living onto activities that are supposed to help relieve our anxieties!

  • YYogini says:

    I have symptoms #7 and #8.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Self-Knowledge at Savasana Addict.

meta

