The Embodied Narcissist

October 22, 2013 § 2 Comments

Thinking that this title would be a more accurate reflection of the content on this blog. Recent life experiences and content I’ve come across have illustrated how these two descriptors pretty much sum up the person I am at the moment.

Embodied – derived from Reggie Ray’s exposition about the Tibetan Buddhist tradition of practicing embodiment, of moving away from conceptualizing our experiences to being the experience and observing that. Reading this with a few years of Ashtanga practice under one’s belt gives a whole new perspective on the asana practice. It brings into awareness the process through which I notice, label and react to physical sensations both on and off the mat. I came across his work via a transcript of his speech on meditation and busyness on EJ (thanks, AY:A2). A good read, both of them.

Narcissist – All me, all the time. Constructing narratives about others’ actions with me at the center of it all. Taking things too personally. Projecting “what I would do” onto others’ actions and judging them by it. Getting anxious about what others think. Constantly hypothesizing about how my behavior explains so-and-so’s reaction or lack thereof. Blogging about me, me and me, all. the. time.

An embodied narcissist. That would make a cool bumper sticker, no?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The Embodied Narcissist

  • mariavlong says:

    I need embodied narcissists. Memoir is my all time favorite reading genre. Actually I cannot choose just one genre, but I think most good writers have to be a little bit good at this navel gazing embodied narcissism.

    • D says:

      It is a fine line between navel-gazing and literary accomplishment, and a real art to walk that edge tastefully. Joan Didion and Cheryl Strayed come to mind as memoirists whose work I’ve enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Embodied Narcissist at Savasana Addict.

meta

