Crankiness

August 27, 2013 § 5 Comments

The funny thing about buying and remodeling a house and then moving in is that it is a lot more traumatic than anyone realizes or speaks about. By ‘trauma’ I’m talking about how disruptive the whole process is – it literally shakes up your life, turning the geography of everyday patterns on its head. Consequently, this process brings with it its own level of stress, which, coupled with the stress that you (i.e., me) lay thickly on your- (my) self creates a countdown towards an inevitable state of burnout: mental, physical, emotional.

For the past few weeks as I’ve tried to hold on to what I remember from the life I had – the 530 chantings, daily practice, meditation, writing – I’ve had the distinct feeling that life has tossed me in the air and I’m still waiting for the landing. What is it about changes to our physical environments that play so much with the mind and one’s moods? I’ve been ridiculously exhausted recently, and flipping between states of guilt and empathy about it.

On the one hand, what am I complaining about – there are just boxes to unpack and organize and a garden to plan. At least I don’t have kids.

On the other hand, after operating on 120% for the past 4 months, fueled entirely by adrenalin, it’s no wonder I’m exhausted.

This is the time when I need my practice more than ever, yet, this is the time when I feel most distant from it, when the mind-body disconnect is higher than it’s ever been this year. All I want to do everyday is curl up in bed and sleep, which, considering my personality type, is probably the worst thing I could do right now.

ENFJ’s are so externally focused that it’s especially important for them to spend time alone. This can be difficult for some ENFJs, because they have the tendency to be hard on themselves and turn to dark thoughts when alone.

From here.

 

 

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Crankiness

  • I am also ENFJ. More sleep is a good thing. I try to take power naps: on my back, with my legs in tabletop position on a couch or chair, timer set for 15 minutes, so I don’t have to pay attention to how long it’s been. It is extremely refreshing. Sometimes I even do it twice a day, so I don’t get to the exhaustion stage.

    • D says:

      Nice to meet another ENFJ šŸ˜‰ I need to be more disciplined about carving out time for naps. I usually have the intention to do so but get distracted by the “one more thing” syndrome, and before I know it it’s 5pm! Thanks for sharing your tips.

  • evahowe says:

    I think I am an INFJ (or at least I was in college) and really find naps helpful too. This is one spot where having kids helps. I have to put Walter down each day for his nap and oddly enough he always goes to sleep faster if I also lay down at the same time. I really find them helpful!

    We only did the kitchen and I still feel like I am recovering from it. It really messed with my head to have so many random people in the house all the time. I have been really tired too and feeling frustrated with myself. I even broke down crying this morning in the middle of nivasana for no particular reason! Alex had to just sit with me until I recovered enough to continue.

    • D says:

      So funny, M is an INTJ! We are so simliar and so different at the same time. Apparently having kids changes a couple of those letters so you should take the test again and see what’s changed.

      Hope you’re feeling better today. One day at a time xx

  • Laura says:

    Took me two years to recover from moving from the West Coast back to the East. Barely there yet. And once we moved into the lovely condo we bought, both my husband and I sunk into a deep funk. Seems to go with the territory of changing, well, territory. It does get better.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crankiness at Savasana Addict.

meta

