Backbends

August 20, 2013 § 3 Comments

Here’s a trick question for you: How can one do Urdhva Dhanurasana when one of your hands does not flatten completely and hurts to be pressed on?

Yesterday’s practice was somewhat decent….well, considering the circumstances anyway. The left wrist was pretty content most of the time except in positions of extreme flexion, such as putting palms on the floor in the twisted standing postures and in reverse prayer. And in Urdhva Dhanurasana. Still no jumping, Bhujapidasana or Utpluthi. It’s starting to sink in that this ‘practice slump’ is going to be here for a while – not just a day, or a week or two.

😦

The upside of all this is having the opportunity to discover other elements of the practice that I can still work on, and find joy in that. Recently I’ve started paying more attention to engaging Uddiyana Bandha throughout the practice while bringing an awareness of the breath into the ribs and upper back with every inhale. Without all the jumping and striving towards strength building and fancy transitions I’ve now got more energy to refine the breath so that’s some consolation: my muscles and tendons may fall apart but I can still breathe!

 

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Backbends

  • globieKevin says:

    With my fracture I can get the hand in position for UD but as soon as I try to push up it lifts, At home I’ve resorted to doing UD with the heals of the hands against the wall which makes it slightly better, though I still can’t lift up.

    • D says:

      Yea my teacher told me to either keep my arms bent or to grab someone’s ankles which would minimize the degree of flexion. Having to look for another pair of ankles to grab in UD makes me feel as if I’m imposing on them: “Excuse me, mind if I grab your ankles really tightly and huff and puff on your feet for 5 minutes?”

  • Eva says:

    I am always amazed when I have an injury what itaffects about my practice. There are the obvobvious things, but there is also always something I thought would hurt that doesn’t and vice versa. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Backbends at Savasana Addict.

meta

