My Hips Don’t Lie

May 13, 2013 § 7 Comments

Neither do my wrists and shoulders for that matter.

The past month has been a ridiculous whirlwind of house-hunting, which came to an end last Friday when our offer was accepted for a 3-bedroom house straight out of the 1950s. Apart from the oak hardwood floors, the rest of the house is long overdue for an update, which will bring its own set of adventures. Still, it was a relief to see the end of open houses, market analysis, multiple-bid scenarios and nerve-wracking days. My body is starting to let go of the low-grade tension and clenching of the past month and in its current state, it’s a body I don’t recognize. Shoulders as achy and stiff as I’ve never seen, a cranky left wrist in every upward dog (something to do with the shoulders perhaps?), and now, an amorphous ache in the right hip/lower back area that feels as if it needs a good application of castor oil. Hip and back pains trigger paranoia like nothing else. I wonder if I tore a ligament/dislocated a disc/over-compressed something in backbending….the list goes on.

This stiff body I find myself with has made for practices that are more intuitive and open, and less about feeling the need to do every single pose up to Bhekasana. The focus is on nurturing, grounding and healing with the breath – the best tool I have to carry me through periods of high stress and high anxiety. It never fails to amaze me how different and energized I feel after just 5 Surya As and 3 Surya Bs, no matter how hesitant or faffy I was before getting on the mat. I’ll have to keep that in mind once we start the joyful process of remodeling and all it brings. Breathe breathe breathe.

Tagged: ,

§ 7 Responses to My Hips Don’t Lie

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Hips Don’t Lie at Savasana Addict.

meta

