Flying Solo

April 29, 2013 § 7 Comments

The coming month will be an experiment. We have a teacher visiting the studio for the month and, instead of signing up, I chose to do a home practice for the duration of his visit. There are a couple of reasons for this, but above all, I’m really craving for some practice “downtime”. No teachers, no workshops, no new tips or asanas,  just me and the breath and the mat. I don’t have a very good track record of solo practices (I think I can count the number of times I’ve done it on one hand), but I knew I made the right decision last week when I finished my last group practice at the studio and found myself looking forward to some solo practice time. Looking forward to it. Now that’s something new. Maybe the prospect of practicing on the Lifeboard has something to do with it (new toy!), or maybe I’m just entering a different phase in my practice. Today’s session was all about figuring out the right temperature for the practice room. I heated it a little too much I think, got a headache by the time I started the seated postures and it got progressively worse. So, short practice today, with backbending, some experiments in Urdhva Dandasana and of course, a looooong savasana with the bedroom door open.

Looking forward to what tomorrow brings.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Flying Solo

  • globie says:

    What’s a Lifeboard?
    Home practice is ok, just a case of making up your mind to not be distracted.

    • D says:

      It’s a portable hard surface that allows practice on carpet or other soft surfaces (like grass). It made a huge difference to Utthita Hasta today 😉

      • globie says:

        Oh that’s a new bit of yoga gear. I practice on top of carpet at home, my Mat has this habit of sliding to the left for some reason, ends up feet from where I started. Never seems to go right. Either my practice is lopsided or the floor is!

      • D says:

        Yea my mat was doing that too when it was just mat on carpet. All the jumping that goes on sure moves things around. No more slippage with the lifeboard!

  • kalbe says:

    Good luck with your experiment of practicing at home. I almost always have – I learned in a big city studio then promptly moved to a small town soon after – and now I can hardly stand to practice in a room with others. I’m going to have to get over that if I ever want to go to Mysore! Anyways, I love it and hope you do too. It’s not always easy, but it is so worth it.

    • D says:

      Thanks, I am loving it so far. Haven’t hit a wall yet! 😉 Mysore will prove to be either distracting or invigorating, depending on what you’re accustomed to. There’s only one way to find out.

  • kalbe says:

    Agreed. I can’t do it this year because of extensive work travel but I’m trying to figure something out for next year.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Flying Solo at Savasana Addict.

meta

