False Indicators Of Success

April 2, 2013 § 7 Comments

A big paycheck.

Prestigious corporate title within an industrial behemoth or fashionable start-up.

Facebook likes.

Retweets.

Twitter/Instagram/blog followers.

Owning a home.

Owning a car – or two, particularly if one of them is an SUV.

Being able to put your leg behind your head.

Practicing the (fill in the blank) series of Ashtanga.

Losing weight and being able to look “good” (as conventionally defined) while sunbathing.

Owning designer furniture.

Having children.

College degree(s).

***

Of course….it all depends on what ‘success’ means to you. I’m still figuring that one out, but knowing what Success doesn’t look like for me will surely help the process.

Tagged: ,

§ 7 Responses to False Indicators Of Success

  • mariavlong says:

    Tension is who you think you should be. Relaxation is who you really are.
    proverb (?)

  • P says:

    Why is it important to figure out what success is in the first place?

    • D says:

      Sorry it’s taken me forever to approve your comment – I didn’t realize it was pending!! Why is it important? Because it gives me a benchmark/framework of sorts to evaluate how far I’ve come and where I have yet to go? At the same time I know that using this construct as a benchmark is another way for the ego to assert itself, to gratify the desire for ‘status’ and comparison. I’m not beyond this….yet. If ever!

  • I am starting out in a new career (and relying on ‘me’ for a paycheck instead of the ‘company’) in my 30s while I see others who did not make this choice ‘succeeding’ at life. You do not know how much I needed to read this today!
    Thanks for posting.

    • D says:

      I hear you. This was triggered by an encounter with a family member who is all about the traditional notions of success (money, status, title) and it re-opened old wounds. Glad it helped you in some way.

  • P says:

    “Why is it important? Because it gives me a benchmark/framework of sorts to evaluate how far I’ve come and where I have yet to go?”
    So where are you coming from and where are you going?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading False Indicators Of Success at Savasana Addict.

meta

