One Month

January 22, 2013 § 5 Comments

photo(5)

Forgive the horrible quality of this surreptitiously taken photograph. I felt compelled to capture it one morning in early December, waiting to start practice at 730am. The fluorescent lights in the practice room were being turned off, leaving the room to bathe in dawn’s soft pink hue. From my vantage point it resembled the kind of light you get in a chapel through its stained glass windows. Together with the breathing and the energy of the room, this Ashtangi chapel held an especially delicate beauty that morning that I will never forget. It certainly made the wait for practice a lot more pleasant.

Yesterday marked a month to the day I left Mysore. It’s only now that the missing is starting to sink in and take root. I’ll save you from my pity party and suggest you head over to Insideowl, who describes the feeling perfectly in this sweet post.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to One Month

  • globie says:

    I never did have to sit in the Lobby and wait to hear “one more”. I was glad at the time, but have the feeling I missed out on something now.

    It’s just over a year since I came back and I can’t wait to go back.

    • D says:

      Oh yes, mastering the mat shuffle/squat towards the door is an essential part of the experience! πŸ˜‰ I too am hoping to go back, looking at next January, but who knows? Would be wonderful if we were there at the same time!

  • (0v0) says:

    I just sat and stared at your photo for a while. Love it. The only photo I’ve taken in that wonderful building is actually in the same room as above, including the sign to the right of the door that says not to take any photographs. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One Month at Savasana Addict.

meta

