Ravi Shankar

December 13, 2012 § 2 Comments

Made an unexpected appearance on this trip.

When we first went to see the Swami on Chamundi Hill a couple of weeks ago, he sang a few lines from this song, then asked us to guess who produced it. Took me by surprise to learn about the Ravi Shankar-George Harrison partnership on “Chants of India”, which just goes to show my cluelessness about Indian music and The Beatles. Since that meeting I’ve had the tune appear at random moments; a couple of notes in my mind when I wake up or piping out from our neighbors’ stereo in the afternoon. It was enough to get me interested in procuring this album as an “Intro to Indian music” sort of thing. And then, to learn yesterday about his passing, I felt sad but in a strange “I’ve just discovered your music and you are gone???” sort of way. Still getting the album though. The music lives on.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Ravi Shankar

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ravi Shankar at Savasana Addict.

meta

