India

October 17, 2012 § 9 Comments

After Maria’s comment on my last post, it occurred to me that I’ve never actually done more than hint about my upcoming trip to Mysore.

I leave in three weeks – the day after the US Presidential Elections, so I have the added benefit of having the entire nation counting down on my behalf. Tickets are booked. The Indian visa is safe in my passport. I’ve got my vaccines, accommodation, a spot at the shala, ride to/from the airport all settled. The only thing I have left to do is pack and get on the plane. Yet, every aspect of this trip still feels hypothetical. In a “yea, I’m going to India (in a long long time from now)” kinda way. To the non-Ashtangis in my social circle, I’m surprisingly nonchalant for a trip of this “magnitude” – i.e., single woman travelling to the Indian subcontinent on her own for her first trip. Some responses I’ve received are:

“You’re going there voluntarily?”

“Why?”

“For six weeks?!?!?!”

“What’s going to happen to your husband?”

All this has been more than entertaining, because while I’m going there on my own, not knowing a single soul to meet or hang out with, I feel like anything but a solitary traveller. And that’s the beauty of this international Ashtanga community. I have shalamates who’ve just returned and have been prepping me with tips. My yoga teacher sat down with me to share stories and prime my expectations for what practice will be like in Sharath’s room. Another teacher’s connecting me with the folks she knows who are already in Mysore. A shalamate’s sister lives in Mysore and I’m getting connected to her as well. Above all, huge thanks toΒ Kevin for the hat tip on a lovely room for my stay.

With all this support flowing in, how can I feel anxious??

Of course, anxiety and excitement are the same chemical responses in the body, so it’s all a matter of perspective.

I am excited to go. I am excited about practicing in that room. That’s what this is all about really – practicing in that room. Everything else is secondary*.

Three Wednesdays from now I will be on my way there. Unbelievable.

*Although one of my wishlist items is to go to the movies while I’m there. I’ve heard that it’s one big party!

 

Tagged: ,

§ 9 Responses to India

  • Nobel says:

    Congrats! I’m excited and honestly, also a little envious of you πŸ™‚ I hope you continue to blog from there, and share your experiences.

    Now that you are going to make it there before I do, maybe I can look to you as a source of travel tips/useful Mysore information when I finally get around to going there myself? Unlike you, I do not practice at a shala, so the community of support for me is only online, at this point. So any support and information I can get (including from you) will be most valuable.

    Have a great trip!

    • D says:

      Yes, there will be blogging, not to worry. And I’m certainly more than happy to serve as (one of many) Mysore resources when you make your trip πŸ™‚

  • mariavlong says:

    With a camera!! Guard your energy D, Don’t want you getting to exhausted to post. πŸ˜€

  • globie says:

    With everything arranged like that all you have to do is look forward to a wonderful experience. You will make lots of new friends. Practice in that room is awesome. There is a cinema on the top of Easy Day.

    • D says:

      Thank you! I am excited about making new friends, but I tend to get carried away with socializing, so will need to watch out for that. Did you ever catch a movie while you were there?

  • lakshmilovestoshop says:

    Enjoy the walk down Chamundi Hill past the Nandi Bull…a beautiful view over Mysore.

  • Globie says:

    The first I was there they showed Kung Fu Panda.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading India at Savasana Addict.

meta

