Human Behavior

January 20, 2012 § 6 Comments

I wouldn’t say that I’m a firm believer in ‘signs’, but I do notice coincidences and the timing of events. After catching up on the latest yoga video (non) “scandal” yesterday, the outlet that I contribute to published my latest article about a pretty controversial topic (hint: it involves geese and ducks) expressing my opinion that didn’t sit well with the audience. An outcry ensued, taking the form of comments, emails and tweets questioning my morals and sense of logic (of which I apparently have none).

Last year’s Tinyshortsgate showed me that the way we react (on the Internet) to something we dislike reveals a lot more about our characters, and reaches a far broader audience, than we realize. The fallouts from recent events bear this out, and it’s a cycle that keeps repeating itself. Appropriately enough, a friend shared this article about Internet commenters and trolls this morning, and it couldn’t come at a better time. It’s as if people forget that the Internet is a public place, that there’s someone else on the other side of the screen who will read what you say, so you better pony up and have your civil graces around you instead of giving into the cancerous vitriolic voice in your head that seduces you with the intoxicating aroma of self-righteousness and emboldens you to insult the author/subject/group/belief system that you disagree with.

There’s nothing more repugnant than self-righteousness and it seems like there’s alot of it going round the Internet lately. This is a platform that has brought countless benefits to society, it’s expanded my social circle and connected me with lovely communities and good friends. But this week is different. This week, it’s shown me the dark and nasty side of human behavior and my faith in humanity is at an all-time low. Truly.

Tagged:

§ 6 Responses to Human Behavior

  • Nobel says:

    “There’s nothing more repugnant than self-righteousness and it seems like there’s alot of it going round the Internet lately.”

    This is true, unfortunately, And a lot of the people with these self-righteousness moralizing tones are people who profess to have liberal, left-wing outlooks. Maybe what my friend Cathrine said years ago was right: “If you go too far to the left, you become right!”

    But anyway, the only thing to do is to try my best to maintain blogging drishti, and not worry too much about what other folks say and do. Can’t change their minds anyway.

    • D says:

      I remember that line from one of the comments she left on your blog and I love it. Thanks for reminding me!

      Blogging drishti – yes, just like any other drishti, it wavers. Funnily enough at the start of the year I told myself that this would be the year where I’d speak my mind about issues important to me, and those who don’t like it can, well, go do something else. Seems like the Universe is taking me up on it.

  • i don’t really know what controversial vid you are talking about. i guess i’m out of the loop. i actually don’t really understand what is being said here

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Human Behavior at Savasana Addict.

meta

