Transformation

November 18, 2011 § 2 Comments

Where do I begin? After that last post, I headed off for a week in Austin with a bunch of really talented and experienced photographers for what I thought would be a workshop, but turned out to be more like a retreat and a bootcamp all at once. I brought my yoga mat along with the full intent to practice every morning, to keep up the momentum from practicing with David, but only managed to do it on the first day – which was an effort in itself, as my body clock was still on Pacific Time. Still, I managed to do all 10 Suryas up to Trikonasana, Shoulderstand, Headstand and the closing sequence. Enough to gently stretch out the body from a plane ride and set the pace for the rest of the week, or so I thought.

The week turned out to be way more intense, fulfilling and transformative than I could have expected. I see things differently now, as a photographer, and I have discovered what a “powerful photograph” really means. Alot of what I’ve heard and read about photography – that it’s about “making pictures” and “seeing” and “understanding light” and that it’s “life-changing”…..all these were just words until this trip. I discovered so much about myself and realized just how much I love this thing called photography. I had never been so exhausted and never felt more alive for those few days – it felt like I was exactly where I was meant to be and I was soaking up every drop of it.

What does all this have to do with yoga? Not much, on the surface, but if you dig deeper, there are many parallels. Photography is a practice of seeing, and part of that practice is about being aware and open of what’s around you, so that you’re ready to capture the moment when it arises. It takes a lot of you, and requires constant, dedicated practice, but it is also very rewarding. Sounds familiar? What I love the most is the opportunity it provides to enter other realities that I otherwise wouldn’t experience.

If you’re interested, there’s a slideshow of the project I did on my site – I hung out with a local band the whole week, and what I saw – the camaraderie, the dedication and discipline to their music – was really heart-warming.

We will return to your regular yoga programming shortly, until then, have a great weekend.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Transformation

  • fivefootwo says:

    D!!! oh my god. I just came back from your site, and you know what I checked out first right? Hahaha. I had actually seen a couple of your pieces published, how cool. So I’m going back to check out the rest of the site. awesome just awesome. I’m so glad you’re so pumped.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Transformation at Savasana Addict.

meta

