Quadratus Lomborum

October 5, 2011 § 10 Comments

I’ve been seeing my chiropractor regularly since my auto accident over a year ago. While I don’t necessarily need the adjustments now, I do love the relief that comes from having my spine and neck cracked into place. Today, the substitute chiro took one look at me on the adjustment table and observed that my hips weren’t level – the right hip is supposedly rotated towards the back compared to the left. Now, if it weren’t for the consistent soreness that’s been there for the past few months I would have thought that he was just coming up with excuses to keep me on the patient roll. But I can’t step out of my body to verify what he sees, and the soreness is still there, so he must be on to something. I also tend to shift my weight onto my right leg when standing for long periods of time, crunching the muscles around the hip in the process. He suggested more adjustments (of course!) and 10 to 12 reps of a muscle strengthener exercise where I’m seated in a chair and slowly rotate the torso from left to right.

I’m relieved that the pain isn’t a result of all the backbending I’m doing, but it also means that I’ll have to pay meticulous attention to my posture all. the. time. in order to correct the rotation. Well, it was only a matter of time I suppose.

Dropback update: After yesterday’s castor oil bath, the soreness in the right QL was significantly less today although it still made for an agonizing Urdhva Dhanurasana the first time. It got better and I was virtually painless by the fifth UD. Did hangbacks on my own today, four in total!! I didn’t dare try going back with my arms outstretched (as Bindi suggested), instead I started with my hands in prayer position at my chest and lifted it up as I arched back, focusing on arching the upper back as much as possible. I reached a tipping point where it was time to straighten the arms but as I tried to do so the weight started tipping towards the back and my legs felt a little wobbly. So I came back up. I’m glad to have found the ‘tipping point’ in arching back so to speak, because then I can work on the nuances of distributing the weight between my lower and upper body. Tomorrow I will try with arms outstretched against the wall. It’s going to be fun.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Quadratus Lomborum

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quadratus Lomborum at Savasana Addict.

meta

