Energy, Regret & Promise

July 18, 2011 § 7 Comments

It was a fantastic weekend meeting new and old friends over two parties. No practice to speak of thanks to LH, but I cannot wait to get back on the mat tomorrow. At this stage in the cycle, I am filled with lots of hope, optimism and energy, not just for the practice but life in general. In yogic terms I guess this is the ‘rajasic’ stage…

The first party on Saturday evening with a bunch of yogis proved more inspirational and exciting than expected. It was a joint birthday celebration of two teachers at the new shala and we had fresh dosas in the park on a cool summer evening with good wine. Apart from the novelty of trying to recognize everyone in their ‘groomed’ state, it was great to converse with a bunch of people on various aspects of yoga and the practice. Blogging and tweeting are great and all, but there’s really no substitute for human interaction.

We met a few people fresh out of Dena and Jack’s week-long intensive in the city and I’m kicking myself for letting the logistics of attending get in the way. I live about 40 minutes away, so the prospect of driving up at 5am and then dealing with rush hour traffic after practice for five days in a row was seriously daunting. Staying overnight wasn’t an option either with accommodations starting at $150 a night for a teensy tiny room in a dodgy hotel. And so I didn’t register, to my loss. G, one of our shalamates that went for the full week, and went on to work full, 12 hour days after each morning’s practice, actually teared when sharing Dena’s message of support and comfort on the last day. I was moved. I immediately went home to read her section of Guruji twice over, soaking up every word as a poor substitute for the week that could have been. There’s talk that she may come to teach at our studio some time in the future. I hope to study with her before then, if budgets allow.

And then there are the many other workshops on the horizon, much closer to home, but much bigger as well. I’m talking of course, about the Ashtanga Yoga Confluence happening next year in San Diego. I’d love to go practice with Nancy again but the prospect of being a part of a huge crowd/conference-like environment is a little off-putting, to be honest. I don’t know. I sense that I’m searching for my own guru, my own Teacher, which explains the drive behind all this “workshop-shopping” I seem to be doing right now. There’s a part of me that believes – that knows – that I’ll have a chance to study with a senior teacher soon enough, when the time is right. I just need to deal with the impatience and accept that that time may not be anytime soon, in my limited conception of time.

Tagged: , ,

§ 7 Responses to Energy, Regret & Promise

  • globie says:

    A shame you couldn’t work it out to practice with Dena, she’s a brilliant teacher. I am so grateful I met her all those years ago and have been lucky to spend a lot of time with her and Jack since. As well as her asana teaching, she usually does a workshop called “a voice for the breath” this is a most incredible chanting workshop and was how I first came across Dena.

    • D says:

      I like that she’s not afraid to use music/chanting in her classes, from what I’ve heard. October in Bali is too soon for me right now, but hopefully the stars will align next year or the year after. I keep checking flights to Byron Bay! šŸ˜‰

  • susiegb says:

    Yes, I’m another Dena fan! First went to a workshop in Bali with her last year and am hoping to get there again this year. She is as truly inspirational teacher – hope you get the chance one day … šŸ™‚

    • D says:

      Thanks Susiegb – whatever will be will be. I hope you get the chance to study with her this year, looking forward to hearing about your experience!

  • Cory says:

    I was hopping for a while till I found my present teacher. Keep the faith šŸ™‚ you’ll find him/her soon.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Energy, Regret & Promise at Savasana Addict.

meta

