Inspiration

July 15, 2011 § 4 Comments

Happy Guru Purnima Day Ashtangis. What does one do on a day like this? I’m pretty clueless so please share your favorite ‘traditions’/practices in the comments.

It’s rest time for this Ashtangi so instead of a boring practice report I thought I’d share some of the things that have been inspiring me recently. Not all yoga-related, but hey, diversity is good, yes?:

  • Light on Life – Since picking it up a few weeks ago I’ve been savoring Iyengar’s insights like one would a good bar of dark chocolate, drawing out the experience so that it never ends. Sharing his wisdom gleaned from all those years as a yoga teacher, this book is less an asana practice guide than an overview of the benefits to be reaped from a consistent and dedicated practice. It’s like Yoga Sutras 101, Iyengar-style. I can’t recommend it enough.
  • Dear Sugar – Loving this new-to-me advice column written anonymously by “Sugar”. Tackling reader questions on topics like the loss of a son, jealousy, the challenges of writing, this is not your typical ‘Aunt Agony’ column serving up advice on fine china and silver platters. Instead it will probably leave the seeker more broken and raw than they’d like. What a breath of fresh air.
  • Kinfolk Magazine – launches today and I can’t wait to get my hands on it. A new type of magazine around home entertaining produced by a team whose aesthetic I aspire to – clean, simple, refined and calm.

Have a great weekend!

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Inspiration

  • globie says:

    Sometimes I am glad of the no guilt for not doing practice moon day break, but sometimes it breaks my rhythm to not do it and I end up doing some kind of a practice. If I don’t practice I try to read something or maybe listen to chanting.

    Today I have been scanning my India visa ready to make some copies for my trip to Mysore. So though I havnt practised I have been doing something yogically useful.

  • globie says:

    Yep after scanning my visa I wondered how many days to go and found an App for my iPad, I just blogged about it.

  • Loved Light on Life and enjoying Kinfolk. Thanks for sharing your inspiration. Haven’t looked at the second one yet. Enjoy your day off!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspiration at Savasana Addict.

meta

