Mysterious Soreness

June 23, 2011 § 6 Comments

I’m starting to get a better idea of this mysterious soreness in the back that’s been there for the past few months. It’s centered on the area in the middle of the spine (probably directly behind where the stomach would be) and extends about an inch to the left of the spine. Not a super big area, but enough for me to notice whenever my back gets too rounded. I usually get a sharp twinge of this soreness in the Paschimottanasanas, but to my pleasant surprise, there was none of that today, probably because I made sure to keep my core fully engaged and fully extending through the spine before folding forwards. That seemed to help.

In Supta Kurmasana though, there was no avoiding it with my rounded back in the posture. I think this ache is from an over-extended (or over-flexed? I can’t remember which is which) muscle as it only pops up whenever my back is rounded. I get this sensation in Halasana and Karnapidasana too. Apart from continuing to keep my core fully engaged in all forward folds, jumpbacks and jumpthroughs, and regular tennis ball massages, I don’t really know what else to do to minimize the twinges and residual soreness in this area. I’m also not sure if this is a ‘serious’ injury (i.e., one that would require me to stop doing Supta K) or just an opening. I guess I’ll just have to keep practicing and paying attention to find out. If any of you in the Cyber Shala has had a similar experience, please do share in the comments – I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Mysterious Soreness

  • Nobel says:

    Hello D, I’m afraid I’m not of much help here, as all the back issues I’ve had are lower back ones (as you know from my recent posts). But there are two things you can do: (1) You can try speaking to your teacher about this. She might be able to help, (2) I’ve heard that cranio-sacral therapy can help with issues in the fascia. If (1) does not solve the problem, perhaps looking into cranio-sacral therapy might help. Just a couple of thoughts 🙂

  • D says:

    Hey Nobel, thanks for your suggestions! I haven’t checked with Ms A about this yet, so, yes, #1 is definitely on the cards. I’ve not heard of Cranosacral Therapy before, and in researching about it, I thought about Rolfing and am wondering if that might work too…have you ever been, err, “Rolf-ed”? 😉

  • […] do. This soreness-bordering-on-pain has been around for the past couple of months, after the weird achyness in my mid-back went away. It’s usually tender at the start of practice, vanishes by Supta Kurmasana, and […]

  • bopjo1 says:

    Hello, did you ever find out what this was or did it just go away on its own? I’m having the same pain in the same area and it’s from Supta Kurmasana. I realize the original post is quite old but maybe you are still monitoring this site. I’d love to know what’s going on…

    • D says:

      Hi – wow yes it’s been a while. I can’t remember much about this, I think it went away with time. Reading the post again (and with the experience of intervening years) I would try to mitigate the soreness with a combination of spine extension (ie, keep extending the spine even in Supta Kurmasana – getting chin on the ground helps instead of the forehead) as well as keeping the legs straight/getting heels off the ground if you can. Doing the latter requires strong bandha engagement which would help protect the muscles of the back in a forward fold.

      I hope this helps!

      • bopjo1 says:

        Thanks so much for the reply. It’s always unnerving to have a mysterious injury and not know what it is or if it’s serious or not. My teacher has never encountered it before so I was glad to google your post. Thanks for writing about it. I’ll try your suggestions.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mysterious Soreness at Savasana Addict.

meta

