Supta Kurmasana

March 31, 2011 § 6 Comments

Dragged myself out of bed and to practice today, making it the fourth time in a week (!!). As usual, a bad case of pre-practice blahs translated to a good time on the mat. Body felt light and strong despite the creaky left shoulder and sore midback area. The husband came along and we needed to finish by 8am so it was only vinyasas between poses – which my shoulder appreciates – and no Chakrasana, which my back appreciates. Everything else went swimmingly, I think I may be getting the hang of knowing when/how to push myself and adapt the practice to my energy levels. We shall see…

The icing on the cake was binding in Supta Kurmasana, on my own!! Ha! Take that in your sorry little corner, Doubt and Impossibility!

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to Supta Kurmasana

  • Nobel says:

    Congrats on binding on your own in Supta K! Being able to bind and put your legs behind your head in Supta K is widely acknowledged to be the gateway to second series. So it sounds like you are making much progress in this area.

    It’s great to be able to understand what your body needs on a particular day. This is a very useful skill to have, especially if one practices alone.

    • D says:

      Thanks Nobel, now the trick is to replicate this with every practice! πŸ˜‰ I imagine that after all your self-practices, you must be pretty good with listening to what your body tells you about pushing the limits. I’m still figuring out my way in that…

  • YYogini says:

    Congratulations! You’re totally correct in the replication part. I’ve successfully done it once awhile ago and it hasn’t happened again (but I also don’t practice this pose that often). No idea how I managed to pull that off that one time.

    • D says:

      For me it came after 3-4 daily practices, so the upper chest and hips were already opened by that practice. After the weekend and a missed practice today, it’s going to be interesting to see how long it takes to come back! πŸ˜‰ I find Mari B & D to be great prep poses for SK as well.

  • Claudia says:

    Yeahhh! congratulations D, on binding in supta!!! Celebrations are in order!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Supta Kurmasana at Savasana Addict.

meta

